Username: Password:

Author Topic: A few questions for those studying/studied Japanese  (Read 327 times)

EX_cavate

• Greenhorn
    • View Profile
A few questions for those studying/studied Japanese
« on: November 07, 2016, 07:48:18 AM »
For a little context, I started taking Japanese classes at a nearby community college during my junior year of high school because a friend told me that certain college classes at this community college were basically free for high school students. I'm a freshman in college now and i'm taking a conversational class at the moment. I feel that my kanji skills (reading and writing them) are deteriorating pretty quickly but now i'm able to hold a decent conversation with someone in Japanese for a decent amount of time.

Anyway, how long have you been studying for and how are you studying? (like taking classes, online, through a friend, by yourself, etc.)

Have you/are you doing any translations? If so, how accurate was your translation?

If someone were to bring you to Japan for, lets say a week or two, would you be able to get around?

If you're not actively studying at the moment, how do you make sure your Japanese skills don't decay?

I've reached the point in my studying where I know when some of the subtitles are wrong, but not enough to watch shows without subtitles.

Sorry if these questions don't make sense, i'll try to explain them if needed.

On a side note, I'd love to help this community with translations but i'm nowhere near confident in my Japanese at the moment. I really hope I can help with translations in the future.

Naryoril

• Producer
    • View Profile
Re: A few questions for those studying/studied Japanese
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2016, 09:52:20 AM »
Well, i first studied when i was a child, maybe 12 to 14 years old, i had private lessons for 2 or 3 years. Then i didn't do anything for roughly 13 years, apart from some self studying attempts, which all ended with "i'll do it tomorrow"...