Username: Password:

Author Topic: The Stop Piracy Online Act and im@s requests/recording.  (Read 10435 times)

JNiles

• Producer
  • Gimme a hug
    • View Profile
Re: The Stop Piracy Online Act and im@s requests/recording.
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2011, 04:03:10 PM »
I haven't read the text of the bill, so please bear with the vague generalizations I am going to make instead.  Our (American) legislative branch is a select group of people who like being in charge, like to extend their authority by passing laws, and don't know/care about the consequences of their actions.  They will try whatever they think they can get away with... the only limits are the fact that they get in each other's way, and perhaps the occasional fear of massive demonstrations/civil disobedience.

Personal anecdote: In 1995, when I was a graduate student, someone introduced a bill that would tax grad student tuition waivers; you get them by being a research assistant or teaching assistant.  Grad students are by nature poor, so the net effect would be some of them would have to quit.  The labor they save the faculty (research, office hours, grading papers) would be dumped in the faculty's lap.  Now, why would anyone tax them specifically?  It's untapped revenue, I guess.

Fortunately, the bill went nowhere, but bad bills are proposed all the time.  They are supposed to die in committee, but if everyone follows their party leader, any bill can conceivably go through, including this one.  Waiting for the Supreme Court to strike it down is the last line of defense- it shouldn't be counted on.